Foundation Awards Three $1,500 Scholarships to Area Students

The Richmond Public Relations Foundation, the 501(c)(3) charitable arm of PRSA Richmond, awarded three $1,500 scholarships to area college students during the chapter’s annual Past Presidents luncheon held Nov. 29.

Peyton Johnson, a senior at James Madison University, was awarded the David P. Hurdle Memorial Scholarship. Johnson recently interned at Edelman’s D.C. office, and she also launched and is currently running the JMU PRSSA’s first-ever student-run public relations firm. In her essay for the scholarship, Johnson said she wants to help brands build trusting, ethical relationships with their publics and strengthen their reputations.

Anna Pendleton, a student at Virginia Tech, is the recipient of the William Dietrick Memorial Scholarship. Pendleton has a GPA of 3.8 and is vice president of the university’s PRSSA chapter. In her essay for the scholarship, Pendleton wrote, “With new technology, evolving publics and market changes, PR will never be static. It is a varying and mobile industry that allows for applied learning while challenging its dedicated professionals.”

Julia Brewster, a senior at Lynchburg College, is the recipient of the Daphne Lowell Dailey Memorial Scholarship. Brewster serves as secretary of the college’s PRSSA chapter. She is public relations advisor for a company called ‘Together’ that has developed an app designed to promote mental wellness. In her essay for the scholarship, she wrote: “For me, public relations is an opportunity to advocate for worthwhile causes and organizations while putting my passion for creativity to use.”

The Richmond Public Relations Foundation funds its annual scholarship program through donations from PRSA members and the community. Donations are tax-deductible.

Learn more and make a donation.